Trainer of the Year Award

The 'Trainer of the Year' Award is our recognition of the outstanding achievements of our members, in the area of fire service training.  Nominees must have done exceptional work for the fire service – that means they have to have provided:

Initiative in developing and applying new ideas in training
Creativity in use of resources
Highest quality of work Dedication beyond “normal”
and service, both within and outside, of their own department.

Nomination Process:

Nominations are to be submitted to the BCFTOA secretary no later than April 15th of the current year.

Nomination Form

The success of this award depends upon the involvement of all BCFTOA members (both full and associate) to nominate deserving individuals.  To be eligible, nominees must belong to a member organization of the BCFTOA.


Past Recipients:

2021 - Sean Coubrough, Columbia Shuswap Regional District

2020 - Kyle Doerksen, Coquitlam Fire Rescue Services

2019 - Not Awarded

2018 - Cam Norris-Jones, Sooke Fire Department

2017 - Brian Ulle, Township of Langley

2016 - John Macdonald, Coquitlam Fire and Rescue

2015 - Rob Trousdell, Training Chief, Port Coquitlam Fire Department

2014 - Captian Mike Davidson, Parksville Volunteer Fire Department

2013 - Michael Dine, Pender Island Fire Rescue

2012 - Terry Peters, Powell River Fire Dept. & Chris Jancowski, Port Alberni Fire Dept.

2011 - Chris Bowcock, Burnaby Fire Dept. & Jamie Svendsen, Big White Fire Dept.

2010 – Marc Norris, Parksville Fire Dept.

2009 – Not Awarded

2008 – Dean Colthorp, Abbotsford Fire Department

2007 – Lane MacDonald, Courtenay Fire Dept.

2006 -

2005 – Bruce Kilby - City of Langley

2004 – Gord Schreiner, Comox Fire Dept.

2003 – Kim McLean - Teck Cominco Fire

2002 – Howard Exner, Maple Ridge Fire Dept.

2001 – Keith Boswell, Surrey Fire Dept.

2000 – Dave Palmer, Township of Langley Fire Dept.

1999 – Not Presented

1998 – Jim Bond, Surrey Fire Dept.

1998 - Robert Gordon, Richmond Fire Dept.

1997 – Not Presented

JIBC Directors Award

1994 – Fred Hubbick

Fire Service Achievment Award

1996 – Gary Caulder, North Vancouver District Fire Services and Chris Caldwell, Sechelt Fire Department.

1994 – Dennis Montgomery, Chief of the Mackenzie Fire Department

1993 – Larry Hooge, Chief’s Aide Training Abbotsford-Matsqui FD

1993 – Doug Buchholz, FTO Vernon F.D. and Leo Le Cavalier,Dep Chief / T.O. Coldsteam VFD

Become a Member

The British Columbia Fire Training Officers Association, more commonly referred as the BCFTOA, is dedicated to gathering information on training standards and providing this information to fire departments so they may effectively and safely train their members. In a world of ever changing standards and regulations, this organization provides fire departments with the most current, up-to-date course information and training requirements.  The BCFTOA will help develop, and support the work of those leaders and organizations in order that they may best provide training for members and affiliated Associations.

sign up